Waiting for God

I wait for the LORD, my soul waits and I hope for his word.  (Ps 130:5)

Altogether too often we are in a hurry.  When it is time to pray, so many other tasks, thoughts, and desires reach out and grab us.  I find that I am guilty of this as well.  I sit down to do my evening prayer and my examen and the shy cat comes over and wants his special time with me.  So, I spend time with him.  Then my latest read catches my attention and I want to get to that already.  And it’s late and I want to go to sleep.  Thus I miss my prayer or hurry through it. 

I have found ways to lose some of that hurriedness I have.  I arrive at my prayer spot earlier in the evening.  I now have grown to expect the cat to arrive.  I give him a few minutes of my time, then he decides he has had enough and moves on.  Next I pick up my prayer.  I very deliberately ignore my fiction book waiting right there for me, and because I have started a bit earlier, I can wait before sleep. 

On a retreat all of this changes.  My cat is not there.  I have nothing to do but pray and walk.  I have learned that during this time, it is essential that I devote my time to God.  And thus I am ready to listen to what God may have to say to me.  A retreat is then very rewarding – and helps me to wait for God.  It also continues to help me when I return home; it helps me to build good habits I can take back.

On a recent post at dotMagis, one of the blogs I follow, Becky Eldredge discusses the topic of retreats and their benefits.  The final statement of this blog really sums up the retreat experience.  “God most certainly works with the limited time God has with a person on a retreat!”  Take a look at the entire posting

Posted on July 12, 2013, in Blogs, Prayer, Retreats and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Maineiac swan

Tales of starting a new life in Maine, including, but not limited to: family, food, birds, school, rants, raves, and general musings.

Everyday Birding

Spiritual Direction

Concerned Catholics of Montana

CCMT: We are Church!

Hottest Heads of State

A scientific and unbiased ranking of world leaders in order of hotness.

People for Others

Spiritual Direction

Spiritual Direction

Living on the Edge

A place for Christians to talk about the journey

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

God In All Things

Discernment. Attention. Ignatian.

Spiritual Direction 101

Spiritual Direction

Ignatian Spirituality

Spiritual Direction

