Table Fellowship with Jesus

I was just reading a post from last week from the blog dotMagis called “A Place at the Table.” The article was a reflection on the topic of who Jesus would eat with.  Jesus was known for eating with sinners and tax collectors.  The blog asks us to consider the question of who are the sinners He would eat with today?  I would like to take this one step further.  Besides all of today’s well-known heinous sinners, Jesus would also have me at the table.  How do I feel about that?  Am I worthy? Who among us is worthy?

Upon further reflection, I have another question.  Who would I eat with?  Would I call the sinners or the saints?  The needy or the wealthy, or both.  All of us have need of acceptance, forgiveness, and friendship.  Am I willing to be at table with those “others;” are they willing to be at table with me?

When we come to the Eucharistic table we are sharing the table with others – all sorts of others.  We are the Body of Christ, receiving the Body of Christ.  We are sharing the Body of Christ with people we might not agree with, approve of, or dine with.  But, together we become the Body of Christ.

One of the hardest lessons we learn is applying this to our lives.  Just as I wrote this, someone I do not want to associate with in any way came along.  I helped him anyway.  It is something I have to learn again and again.

Picture Courtesy MorgueFile

Posted on July 20, 2013, in Blogs, Eucharist and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Maineiac swan

Tales of starting a new life in Maine, including, but not limited to: family, food, birds, school, rants, raves, and general musings.

Everyday Birding

Spiritual Direction

Concerned Catholics of Montana

CCMT: We are Church!

Hottest Heads of State

A scientific and unbiased ranking of world leaders in order of hotness.

People for Others

Spiritual Direction

Spiritual Direction

Living on the Edge

A place for Christians to talk about the journey

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

God In All Things

Discernment. Attention. Ignatian.

Spiritual Direction 101

Spiritual Direction

Ignatian Spirituality

Spiritual Direction

